Talladega County Economic Development Authority
Tax incentives are available for existing industries, expanding industries, and new industries.

QuickMenu Save Document
 
Alabama Department of Revenue Website
 
P.O. Box 327001
Montgomery, Alabama
36132-7001
(334) 242-1175

Alabama Tax Structure

Ad Valorem/Property Tax

Property (Ad Valorem) taxes are taxes on real and/or personal property. Real property includes the land , any structues permanently attached to the land, as well as mobile homes. Personal property refers to furniture, fixtures, tools, and equipment used in the operation of a business.

Add-ons to Motor Vehicles are considered personal property. "Add-on" equipment is any item added to the cab and chassis of a motor vehicle, either by the origional manufacturer or a secondary manufacturer. Add-on equipment includes, but is not limited to: box type bodies, dumping mechanisms, wrecker rigs, refrigerated bodies, limousines, armored trucks and vans, buses, cement mixer drums, refuse compactors, cranes, booms, propane and petroleum tanks, and flat beds. Other terms used to describe what is refferedd to as add-on equpiment include: added value equipment, specialized equipment, truck equipment, and bodies.

All aircraft, including hot air baloons both personal or commercial are considered personal property and as such are taxable in Alabama.

The State Department of Revenue is responsible for determining property value which, by law, must be set according to "Fair and reasonable market value." Your property is probably not for sale, but the appraiser must set the value of the property as if it were to be "SOLD" in an arms length transaction between a willing buyer and a willing seller - neither being under pressure to buy or sell.

Time Table for Collecting Real Property Taxes
Taxes are collected on the following schedule for the year that ended on September 30.

October 1stTax Due
January 1stTax Delinquent
March 1stTurned Over to Probate Court for Tax Collection
April 1stAdvertised for Sale
May 1stTax Sale

What to do When you Buy Property

  1. Record deed in Probate Office
  2. Assess the property in the Revenue Commissioner's Office when the deed is recorded. Claim any exemptions which are due at this time. Be sure to provide your address and telephone number

Homestead Exemption

  • Homestead Exemption I
    May be Claimed on your principal residence, regardless of age or income. Amount of assessed value exempted is $4,000.00 State and $2,000.00 County.
  • Homestead Exemption II (Act 91)
    For persons over 65 or totally disabled, whose income is less than $12,000.00 annually. The exemption is for all State taxes and County up to $5,000.00 Assessed Value.
  • Homestead Exemption III (Act 48)
    For persons after 65 or totally disabled, this exemption is from all property taxes if their taxable income is less than $7,500.00.
    NOTE: For homestead exemption II and III, the taxpayer must file and sign their assessment each year to remain eligible.

Current Use Value

Current use value is an exemption which applies to class III property. Upon application, the property is taxed based on value to the owner without consideration of the potential value of the property. Current use is applied most commonly to farm land.

Calculating Your Taxes

All taxable property shall be divided into the following classes and shall be assessed for Ad Valorem tax purposes at the following ratios of assessed value of such property:

  • Class 1 - All property of utilities used in the business of such
    utilities - 30% of market value.
  • Class 2 - All property not otherwise classified - 20% of market value.
  • Class 3 - All agricultural, forest and residential property - 10% of market value.

Example: 40 acres of cropland in the county appraised at $500.00 per acre. Total fair market value is $20,000.00. Appraised value times (X) 10% equals (=)$2,000.00 times (X) .029 millage equals (=) tax due of $58.00.

After an assessed value has been placed on your property the amount of taxes is determined by multiplying the correct tax rate by the assessed value then subtracting the proper exemptions.

Millage Rates
Millage Rates Applied to Different Areas of Talladega County
1 mill = 1/10 of 1 penny

Area of CountyMillage Rate
City of Talladega38.5
City of Sylacauga50.5
City of Lincoln39.0
City of Oxford39.0
City of Childersburg41.5
City of Munford39.0
Talladega Spring34.0
District 1C Outside29.0
District 1C
Outside with Childersburg School
32.0
District 1F
Outside with Fayetteville School
34.0
District 1L
Outside with Lincoln School
34.0
District 1M
Outside with Munford School
34.0

Tax Collection

Taxes are due 1st of October and are delinquent after the 31st of December.

Make Payments in the Following Ways

  • Pay by mail and avoid waiting in line by mailing a check or money order to:
    Harvey Bowlin, Sr.
    Talladega County Revenue Commissioner
    PO Box 1119
    Talladega, AL 35161

     
  • You may come to the Revenue Commissioner's Office and make payment in person.
     
  • Ask your mortgage company to pay your bill.

Failure to pay property tax results in tax sale of property.
Property may be redeemed within three years after date of sale.

If you purchase property during the year, you need to make sure the taxes are paid. The tax bill will usually be in the previous owner's name. You are responsible for taxes on all property you own-no matter how the tax bill might be listed.

Homestead Exemptions
State up to 4000 x .0065
County up to 2000 x .0095

Multiply Assessed Value X Millage
Multiply state exemption up to 4000.
Multiply county exemption up to 2000.
Add these two amounts together and subtract from first totals.
This will give you the amount of tax due after exemptions

Example
Assessed Value: 4500 ($45,000 appraised value) District 1
4500 x .029 = $130.50
St.h/x ex. 4000 x .0065 = -26.00
Co.h/s ex. 2000 x .0095 = -19.00
Total Tax Due = $85.50

Talladega County Economic Development Authority